What are the five Love Languages Anyway?

As I go about my current & ongoing Soul Search, I’ve come to learn a few really important things, one of which is:
each new lesson in life is preparing me for the next & more exciting/difficult lesson to come.

When it comes to this lesson in life, I see the truth in the quote from Disney’s MULAN~
“The flower that blooms in adversity is the most rare and beautiful of all.”

Lately, I’ve come to learn that to have a balanced life of LOVE, we all need to cultivate what’s known as Dr. Gary Chapman’s FIVE LOVE LANGUAGES. What are the five love languages? Here they are:
1. Words of Affirmation
2. Quality Time
3. Receiving Gifts
4. Acts of Service &
5. Physical Touch

I am the kind of person who’s ever changing, so even though I took this quiz years ago and discovered that my primary love language was Receiving Gifts (I know, I know, it sounds so shallow but to me gifts have always represented the tangible evidence of the gift givers’ love and affection.) Now though, it was time to see if I had grown and developed a new set of love language skills. Here are the results (drum roll please…):

Out of A Possible 11 points in each category—
1. Words of Affirmation- 9 points
2. Quality Time- 8 points
3. Receiving Gifts- 8 points
4. Acts of Service- 5 points
5. Physical Touch- 0 points! (Wait, what?!Is that accurate?!)

My evaluation: Okay, so it seems that I am almost tri-lingual, speaking in terms of love. I’m close to being fluent in Words of Affirmation, while also being slightly less, but equally efficient in both Quality Time & Receiving Gifts. If my understanding is correct, these are the ways I appreciate being loved & are also my sincerest ways of showing love. It looks like Acts of Service is important to me but not so much as my top three are. And…as for Physical Touch. Huh? Are you kidding me? 0??? Not even a 1?! First thought : maybe I should retake this dumb quiz. How does it know ME anyway? … After further thought… It’s true. I really, really do hate both to be touched & to accept a loved one’s touch. Sure, I partake in the occasional peck on the cheek and hug/greeting with friends & strangers alike, according to local Hawaiian custom. But… I don’t enjoy it. I do it out of mere duty & formality. It seems to me that I never really wanted to learn this language either (kinda like when I set out to learn Chinese almost 10 years ago.Yet, I’m still going strong and learning a new word almost every day.) Can I learn the words one at a time in order to work on my Physical Touch love-speak? Perhaps… I’ve begun to notice too, (sad to say) that I cringe even when my nieces touch me in the slightest affectionate way. I force myself to accept these forms of love but I wish I would desire it too. It’s fine though because we all have at least one thing to work on and the first step is in knowing what that thing is. Now I really understand why I don’t ever wanna get married. I mean, you have to hold hands, kiss, & try to make babies right?! Ewwwww! Do I sound like I’m 5 years old? Sometimes I feel like it. Lol. Anyways, all that being said, I know what it is I’d like to work on & if you check back in a few months, I’ll do a progress check up. Feel free to subscribe to my Blog–Soul Search.

Another thing I’ve come to learn is that: a creative outlet is extremely beneficial! Check out my new business in creativity by following this link:
The benefits of this creative outlet & why I turned it into a business will be discussed in my next blog.

Until then, this is Crafty ‘Cole with your kinda-weekly Soul Search blog. (My niece calls me Aunty ‘Cole instead of Aunty Nicholle, it just melts my heart, as long as she isn’t touching me. 😂)

If you’d like to go to discover your primary love language go to:
P.S. You’ll have to enter your info & email for your result, if it’s worth that to you. It was to me!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s